Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Today I made scones for the first time ever. Considering that my dad is a master scone baker, it’s hard to believe that I have never made scones by myself before. His scones are seriously good – people rave about them. He usually makes them with raisins or craisins or, my personal favourite, blueberries. I’m sorry to say that these are not my dad’s scones. He did share his recipe with me, but I modified them so much that they are pretty much unrecognizable! (Dad, I hope you don’t mind that I’m posting this recipe.)

Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Scones

by Emily Ratzlaff

Prep Time: 20 min

Cook Time: 10-12 min

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar
  • 1/2 heaping teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 cup of cold butter/margarine (or dairy free substitute)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup of buttermilk (or regular/almond/soy/etc.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 small apple, peeled & chopped
  • 1-2 teaspoons of raw demerara sugar (or brown sugar) for sprinkling

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (205 degrees C) and line a baking tray with parchment paper or grease with cooking spray.
  • Beat egg and set a small amount of beaten egg aside to use to brush the top of the scones. Combine larger amount of egg with buttermilk and set aside.

  • In a separate bowl, combine flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, salt, and 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon.
  • Cut butter into flour mixture with a pastry cutter or your fingers until mixture resembles very coarse crumbs.
  • Slowly pour in buttermilk & egg mixture and stir until a dough forms. If dough is too wet, add more flour. (You may not need to add in all of the milk).
  • Roll dough out to 1/2 inch thickness on a floured surface. Cover half with chopped apples and fold over other side to cover apples.

  • Brush the top with reserved egg (if desired, you can add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon to beaten egg before brushing).
  • Sprinkle top with demerara (or brown) sugar.

  • Cut into squares/triangles and bake for 10-12 minutes.

I am savoring every moment of my last week of vacation by spending excessive amounts of time baking, lying in bed, drinking tea and window shopping (not to mention running) – I am so not looking forward to heading back to school in just over a week.