Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Pumpkins have arrived in Dublin! I love being able to buy pumpkins from the grocery store – they only appear for a couple of brief weeks each year. On my way home from the hospital today I stopped to buy a pumpkin, a latte, chocolate, and grapes – Friday treats. I love Fridays – we get a half day at the hospital so I have the whole afternoon to relax and make cookies. These cookies make the perfect Friday treat – I adapted them from this recipe. I used canned pumpkin, but you could also use fresh pureed pumpkin.

Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

Prep Time: 15 min

Cook Time: 10-12 min

Ingredients:

For the Cookies:

  • 1 cup of spelt flour
  • 3/4 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar (I used Demerara)
  • 6 teaspoons of Stevia (or 1/2 cup of white sugar)
  • 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

For the Coating:

  • 3 teaspoons of Stevia (or 1/4 cup of white sugar)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ginger
  • Dash of allspice

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line baking sheets with parchment paper or grease with cooking spray.
  • Combine dry ingredients and set aside.
  • In a separate bowl, cream together butter, sugar, and stevia. Add in egg, pumpkin, and vanilla extract and mix well.
  • Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir until just combined.
  • Mix together coating ingredients in a shallow bowl.
  • Form cookie dough into balls and roll in coating. Place on cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes. (I like to slightly under-bake these so they stay soft and slightly doughy).

Happy Friday!