Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s a rainy day here and it definitely feels like fall. Yesterday I made slow-cooker chili for dinner. I love my slow-cooker and I would highly recommend getting one if you don’t have one. Mine was only 16 euro – lately I’ve become convinced that the cheaper the appliance, the better it works and the longer it lasts. And you can use it for all kinds of crazy stuff and you don’t have to worry about wrecking it because you can always just buy another one if it breaks! (Please note that none of my cheap appliances have broken yet. I use my blender as a food processor all the time – I actually pick it up and shake it in the air while it’s running – maybe I should just buy a cheap food processor?). Anyways, I asked Matt if he wanted to have sweet potatoes or cornbread with the chili and he said cornbread… but I kind of wanted sweet potatoes, so I made them into one!

Sweet Potato Cornbread

If you don’t have sweet potatoes, this bread would also work well with canned pumpkin.

by Emily Ratzlaff

Prep Time: 20 min

Cook Time: 20-25 min

Ingredients (serves 8):

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup spelt flour (or whole wheat/gluten free flour)
  • 1 tablespoon of raw brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 3/4 cup cooked, mashed sweet potato
  • 2 tablespoons of dairy-free butter (or regular butter/margarine)
  • 1/4 cup of almond milk (or regular milk)
  • 1 egg

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a loaf tin with cooking spray.
  • Combine dry ingredients and set aside.
  • Peel sweet potato and chop into large pieces. Boil until tender. Drain and mash. Add melted butter, milk, and egg and stir to combine.
  • Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until a dough forms.
  • Pour into prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes or until a knife inserted in the centre comes out clean.
  • Cool for at least 10 minutes before removing from pan.

The perfect accompaniment to chili.

I’m about to head out for a run so I’ll have to put the poor kitty outside in the rain – he’s peacefully sleeping beside me. He is not going to be impressed.

My goal for the day is to finally finish my research paper – I haven’t really worked on it at all since before I went to Toronto. Happy Monday!