Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Have you ever tried Biscoff Cookie Butter? Over here it’s called Lotus Original Speculoos Spread. I’m not sure if you can buy it anywhere in Ireland – I asked for it for Christmas last year (I know, weird Christmas gift) and since then I’ve bought it in Belgium and France. Trust me, it tastes as good as it sounds. Although I try not to, I have been known to eat it by the spoonful straight from the jar.

I created these muffins yesterday afternoon when I came home from my hospital placement. It’s been a bit of a slow start so far (which is very unusual compared to all of my previous placements) – I’ve had lots of time to sit around and read (or think about muffins to bake when I get home). I think it’s going to pick up now that I’ll have my own caseload, so that’s good.

Banana Biscoff Muffins

by Emily Ratzlaff

Prep Time: 15 min

Cook Time: 20-25 min

Ingredients: (makes 14 muffins)

  • 3 very ripe small bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup of Biscoff spread (aka Lotus Original Speculoos Spread)
  • 1/3 cup of low-fat plain or vanilla yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of almonds, ground into a flour
  • 1 cup of oats
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 60 grams of chocolate, chopped (or 1/2 cup of chocolate chips)

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease muffin tin with cooking spray.
  • Combine mashed bananas, yogurt, biscoff spread, and egg. Mix well.
  • In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until just moistened. Stir in chopped chocolate.
  • Spoon batter into muffin tin. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a knife inserted in the centre comes out clean. Let cool on a rack for 10 minutes before removing from muffin tin.
  • *To make your own almond flour: Add 1 cup of almonds into blender and grind until a fine flour forms. If necessary, pour ground almonds through a sifter and return the larger pieces to the blender and repeat.

Even cats like them!

