Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I completed my 3-hour run this afternoon! I was a little bit late with this run because I had to take some time off running to go to Toronto and now I’m trying to figure out how to catch up. I had scheduled in a 3-week taper before the marathon, and now I’m wondering if I should add an extra run onto the end of my plan and make it a 2-week taper. I need to do some reading about tapering tonight. The other option would be to squeeze in an extra run next week but somehow I don’t think it’s a good idea to do 2 super long runs in 1 week.

I tested out my new homemade raw energy bars today during my run. I actually made them into the shape of a muffin rather than a bar. These are gluten-free.

Raw Marathon Energy Bars

by Emily Ratzlaff

Prep Time: 10 min

Ingredients (makes 4 muffins or 2 bars):

  • 2 tablespoons of almond butter
  • 2 tablespoons of dessicated coconut
  • 1 tablespoon of maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup of pitted dates

Instructions:

Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor. Shape into squares/bars and refrigerate for a few hours or overnight.

Here is the nutritional info for 1 batch divided into 4:

I ate two energy muffins during my run – I took bites at the 1 hour, 1h 20min, 1h 40min, 2h, 2h 20 min, and 2h 40 min marks. In my previous long runs, I haven’t eaten anything until at least 1h 20 min, but it seemed to help that I started eating a bit earlier. I felt great for the first 2 hours of my run. I did a bit of a different route this time so I could stop by the house at 2 hours and drink some water and get another energy muffin. The third hour was really hard – it might have been because I stopped by the house so I subconsciously felt like I was finished, but then I wasn’t. By about 2h 50min, I was just trying to walk-run my way home. I felt pretty tired after finishing but I feel a lot better now. My only criticism of these energy bars is that they’re a bit sticky – you kind of need some liquid to help wash it down. Other than that, they taste good and they did the job! They’re quite sweet from the dates, you could try reducing the amount of maple syrup or eliminating it all together if you want something less sweet.

Coming up tomorrow, Pennsylvania Dutch Apple Muffin Cake! yum.

