Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Today is Yesterday was my sister’s (Sophie) 22nd birthday. Sorry to Sophie that I’m one day late – I meant to post this yesterday but we got so tired and Matt and I fell asleep at 9pm last night and didn’t wake up until the alarm went off at 5:30 this morning – oops. I packed my lunch and got all ready for work this morning, biked all the way there, and then realized that I had forgotten my keys to lock up my bike. But, I remember locking the house this morning when I left – so that meant I had somehow left the keys outside of our house – I panicked! I texted my supervisor and told her what happened and frantically biked all the way home, while having visions of burglars and bandits ransacking our house, to find the keys sitting on the table on our patio. What a relief! Thankfully, my supervisor told me that I did not have to bike all the way back in, so I’m working from home.

Back to Sophie’s birthday – last year Sophie was visiting us in Dublin on her birthday. She was on a university exchange to Gothenburg, Sweden at the time.

We took her to Lemon, one of our favourite places to eat, for a birthday crepe.

I made her an Oreo ice cream birthday cake.

We went to Galway and the cutest tea shop on planet earth called Cupan Tae. If you ever go to Galway, you should definitely go there – get the Galway Cream Tea – it’s amazing.

Matt came too, he loves tea.

And we went to the Guinness Factory. Sophie likes granola – this recipe is for you, Sophie. I would have made this for your birthday breakfast – but I also probably would have made some cupcakes or something too! Happy Birthday, wish you were here!

Maple Almond Granola

This granola is super easy to make and perfect with yogurt for breakfast or a snack. (I love snacks)



by Emily Ratzlaff

Prep Time: 10 min

Cook Time: 12 min

Ingredients (makes 4 quarter cup servings):

  • 1 tablespoon of almond butter
  • 2 tablespoons of maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup of sliced almonds
  • 1 cup of oats

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees F and line a cookie sheet with baking paper or grease with cooking spray.
  • Combine almond butter and maple syrup (you may need to slightly melt almond butter in the microwave). Stir in cinnamon and vanilla.
  • Add oats and sliced almonds and toss to coat.
  • Spread oats & almonds onto cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes. Stir oats around and then bake for another 4-5 minutes until slightly brown.
  • Let cool until granola is crunchy before putting it into a container.

And here’s some kitty pictures because it’s Monday morning (and Sophie loves cats):

Matt loves the kitty too.

