Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Working from home today! Which means I get to stay in my pajamas all day, drink unlimited amounts of tea, have unlimited access to snacks and plenty of time to make muffins (and also maybe go for a run).

This summer I was able to get a research grant from my college to do a clinical research project at a hospital here in Dublin. Sometimes, my supervisor lets me work from home, which is great because the hospital is a 45 minute bike ride away. I’ve finished my statistical analysis so basically all I have left to do is write up the paper. The only thing is that I don’t really know much about statistics – so I have no idea if I analyzed the data correctly. I have a meeting coming up with a statistician – so I’m really hoping that I don’t have to go back and do it all over again – fingers crossed. In the mean time, I made muffins.

These are healthy, double chocolate zucchini muffins with oats, whole wheat flour, almond butter and yogurt. You could try subbing a different nut butter, like peanut butter for the almond butter and oil for the yogurt if you want to make them less healthy. You could also replace the whole wheat flour and oats with regular all-purpose flour or gluten free flour.

Double Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

  by Emily Ratzlaff

   Prep Time: 25 min

   Cook Time: 20 min

Ingredients (11 muffins)

  • 1/4 cup of almond butter
  • 2.5 tablespoons of vanilla or plain organic yogurt
  • 1 medium egg
  • 1/2 cup of demerara raw sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 heaping cup of finely grated, peeled zucchini
  • 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup of cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 0.5 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 0.5 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 0.5 teaspoon of instant coffee (optional – helps intensify the chocolate flavour)
  • 0.25 teaspoon of cardamom (optional)
  • 0.25 teaspoon of salt
  • 60 grams of chopped dark chocolate (or 1/2 cup of chocolate chips)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray muffin pan with cooking spray or line with muffin cases.

In a large bowl, combine flour, oats, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, cardamom, instant coffee and salt. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together almond butter, yogurt, egg, sugar, and vanilla extract. Stir in zucchini.

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix just until dry ingredients are moistened. Fold in chocolate chunks.

Divide batter evenly between muffin cases (I got 11 muffins). Bake for about 20 minutes or until a knife inserted into the centre of a muffin comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes in pan. Remove and let cool on a wire rack before serving.

Then make muffin pyramids – which are surprisingly difficult!

